FaxFair guidesPublished

How to send a one-time fax

For a one-time fax with no account or plan, use a fax website that doesn't ask you to sign up, a store or a library. As of November 2026, this website charges $2.49 for up to 40 pages, and FaxZero and GotFreeFax send up to 3 pages free.

We read each option's own page on November 1, 2026. The one thing to avoid for a single fax is a free trial, which turns into a paid plan unless you cancel in time.

Ten ways to send a single fax, side by side

As listed on each provider's own page on November 1, 2026 (FaxFair's from our price list that day), for a fax to a U.S. number.

Ways to send a single fax compared, November 2026
WhereSign-upWhat it asks of youPagesCover pagePrice
This website (faxfair.com)NoneName and phone, printed on each page; card, Apple Pay or Google PayUp to 100Optional and free, not counted. Each page ends with a "via FaxFair" line$2.49 up to 40 pages, $6.99 for 41 to 100
FaxZero, free faxNoneName, email and phone, plus a code you copy from a picture; you click a link in an email before it sends3 plus a cover page; 5 faxes a dayFaxZero's logo and slogan at the topFree
GotFreeFax, free faxNoneName and email; you click a link in an email before it sends3; 2 faxes a dayOptional and not counted; no ads or brandingFree
FaxZero, paid faxNoneName, email and phone; PayPal25 plus an optional cover pageNo FaxZero branding$3.29
GotFreeFax, paid faxNoneName and email; PayPal10, 20 or 30Optional; no ads or branding$1.25 up to 10 pages, $2.45 up to 20, $3.75 up to 30
FedEx Office (College Station, Texas store)NoneA visit; payment pre-authorized at the copier, or help at the counterNot statedNot statedFrom $2.19 local, $2.49 domestic (neither defined)
Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library, OhioNone; no library card neededA visitNo limitThe library provides oneFree
FaxItOnceA free accountPDF files only; card45, counting any cover pageNone added$2.75
Fax.Plus, free planAn accountA Google, Microsoft or email sign-up; no card10 in total, send onlyNot statedFree
iFax, one-time fax pageIts Start Free buttons open a sign-up or log-in pageNot statedNot statedOptional"As low as $1.99 per page"

Every website in the table needs your pages as a file, so scan paper first. Stores and libraries take the paper itself.

Sending one fax online from a computer

On faxfair.com you upload PDFs or photos and type one U.S. or Canadian fax number, without an account. The form asks for your name and phone number, which we print on every page, as U.S. law requires. You see every page before you pay by card, Apple Pay or Google Pay on Stripe's checkout page. We only charge your card when the fax is delivered. If the fax fails, we cancel the payment and you aren't charged.

FaxZero and GotFreeFax send up to 3 pages free to the U.S. and Canada, with no account. Each sends the free fax only after you click a link in its email, so use an address you can check right away. FaxZero allows 5 free faxes a day, takes DOC, DOCX or PDF files and puts its logo and slogan on the cover page. GotFreeFax allows 2 a day, also takes JPG photos and adds no ads or branding.

For a longer document, both sell one paid fax through PayPal. As of November 2026, FaxZero charges $3.29 for up to 25 pages, without its branding or the email step. GotFreeFax charges $1.25 for up to 10 pages, $2.45 for up to 20 and $3.75 for up to 30.

Some one-fax services ask you to sign up first. As of November 2026, FaxItOnce charges $2.75 for up to 45 pages of PDF files after you create a free account. You pay into a wallet up front. Its pricing page says a failed fax leaves that credit in your account and doesn't give the money back automatically. As of November 2026, the iFax page for one-time faxes says "as low as $1.99 per page" with "no monthly subscriptions". Its Start Free buttons open a sign-up or log-in page.

Sending one fax from a phone

The websites above open in your phone's browser too, so you can send one fax without installing anything, or use the FaxFair app below. On an iPhone, the Files app scans paper with the camera when you tap Scan Documents, then saves it where you choose.

This website can't take HEIC photos, the iPhone's usual format, so save photos as JPG first.

Our guide on how to fax from an iPhone has the scanning steps and the other ways to send from a phone.

Sending one fax at a store or library

FedEx Office says no account is required at its self-service copiers, where you pre-authorize payment before faxing. A team member can also send the fax for you at the counter. FedEx says prices vary by store. As of November 2026, its College Station, Texas store page says pricing starts at $2.19 for a local fax and $2.49 for a domestic one.

The UPS Store says prices may vary by location. As of November 2026, The UPS Store #6086 in Austin, Texas, listed $5.00 for a domestic fax's first page and $1.00 for each extra page. Its price sheet is undated, so call to confirm.

Some public libraries fax free. Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library does at all its locations, with no page limit and no library card needed. King County Library System in Washington sends faxes free at its Library Document Stations. Call your library before you go, since each one sets its own rules.

Our guide to where you can fax something near you has store finders and what to bring.

To send your fax now without an account, use this website. For pages on paper, the FaxFair iPhone app scans them with the camera, and your first fax there is free, up to 40 pages.

Send a fax online

Free trials that turn into a monthly plan

A free trial is how one fax turns into a monthly bill. Apple's page for app makers says "the subscription auto-renews at the standard price unless a subscriber cancels it" when a free offer ends. The iFax iPhone app, for example, says in its App Store listing that its free trial lasts 7 days. That's the app, not the one-time fax page above. Monthly charges then start automatically unless you cancel 24 hours before the trial ends.

On October 30, 2026, we read the visible App Store reviews of the fax apps we compete with. Charges after a canceled trial were a common complaint in the reviews we read. For one fax, skip any offer that needs a card to start a free trial or shows a weekly or monthly price.

Our guide to free fax apps for iPhone compares what eight apps charge after the free part, with Apple's steps to cancel a trial.

Questions

Can I send a one-time fax for free?

Yes. As of November 2026, FaxZero and GotFreeFax send up to 3 pages free once you confirm through a link in an email. Some libraries, such as Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library, fax free with no page limit.

Which one-time fax service costs the least?

A free website costs nothing for 3 pages or fewer, and a library that faxes free costs nothing at any length it allows. Among the paid websites we read on November 1, 2026, GotFreeFax charges least for up to 20 pages. It charges $1.25 for up to 10 and $2.45 for up to 20. FaxItOnce charges $2.75 for up to 45 pages with an account, and FaxZero $3.29 for up to 25. This website charges $2.49 for up to 40 pages.

Can I fax one document without a subscription or an account?

Yes. This website, FaxZero and GotFreeFax send a fax without an account, and so does FedEx Office at its copiers. FaxItOnce and the Fax.Plus free plan ask you to sign up first.

Do I need a cover sheet for a single fax?

Only if the office you're faxing asks for one, though it helps the fax reach the right person. Our free fax cover sheet maker builds one in your browser with no sign-up, and you download it as a PDF. When you send from faxfair.com, the cover sheet is free and doesn't count as a page.

Sources

The pages we read for this guide, on November 1 and 2, 2026.

  1. FaxZero, home page
  2. FaxZero, FAQ
  3. GotFreeFax, home page
  4. GotFreeFax, "How It Works, Pricing, Page Limits & Options"
  5. FaxItOnce, "Send a One-Time Fax Online"
  6. FaxItOnce, "Online Fax Pricing"
  7. FaxItOnce, home page
  8. Fax.Plus, "Free Fax"
  9. Fax.Plus, pricing page
  10. iFax, "Pay Per Fax: One Time Fax Service"
  11. FedEx Office, "In-store Self-Service Fax Services"
  12. FedEx Office, a College Station, Texas store page
  13. The UPS Store, "Faxing Services & Secure Faxing"
  14. The UPS Store #6086 (Austin, Texas), price list PDF (undated)
  15. Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library, "Fax and Print"
  16. King County Library System, "Can I send a fax at the library?"
  17. Apple Support, "How to scan documents on your iPhone or iPad"
  18. Apple Developer, "Auto-renewable Subscriptions"
  19. App Store, "iFax App Send Fax From iPhone" listing